Here’s Some Context For You

My life is kind of a mess at the moment.

I didn’t want to my fresh start of kick off on a negative note, but I would like to set the stage for what I’m about to do.

The thing is, I’m feeling stuck creatively, spiritually, mentally, intellectually, and emotionally. Every single day is like the previous day on repeat. There’s anything wrong with routine, but my life has gone way past “routine”. My life is stale. Just like my thoughts, ideas, experiences, and goals. I’ve settled into this rut and I’m feeling frustrated with myself.

I’ve been feeling this way for a long time. It’s not something that I’ve noticed just recently.

Earlier this year, I realized that I missed being creative. I missed working with my hands and creating things. I used to do a lot of arts and crafts, but depression took away my passion and motivation. For some reason, though, I decided that 2016 would the year  that I rekindle my passion for arts and crafts. (It must have been being around a creative co-worker who exuded creativity, color, and fun.)

I’m proud to say that I’ve stuck to my resolution for 2016. I’ve finished more projects in the past 9 or so months than I have in the past five years. I am now able to look at things and think of the possibilities for re-purposing, upcycling, crafting, and creating. I haven’t been taking photos of my projects because I really wanted to focus my energy on rekindling my passion rather than on trying to take the perfect photo. But maybe at the end of this year, I will share the things I’ve made.

But now, I’m still here feeling negatively about the direction my life has taken. I really am not kidding when I say that things have gone stale. Even my fashion choices are boring! I don’t care about clothes that much, but the current state of my wardrobe is just dismal.

I guess that’s enough whining. It’s not making me appear very appealing, is it?

I promise you: it’s going to get better. Or at least I will try. I’m quite excited about starting anew with my blog. It’s very symbolic of the change and fresh start that I need in my everyday life. I think that putting my thoughts into writing will help free up some space in brain for new ideas and learning. I’m really happy to be taking this path, and I can’t wait to see where this leads.

~Denise

Leave a Reply

